U.S. Industry opportunities
How to open a dispensary in New Hampshire
Get started today!
Individuals with a physician’s recommendation may possess and use medical marijuana. State-licensed businesses are permitted to grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana. Patients with qualifying medical conditions may register with the state Department of Health and Human Services to possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana at a time.
Application Fees/Start up costs
The application period for New Hampshire is currently closed. Retail Store, Cultivation Facility and Product Manufacturing Facility share the same fee schedule.
Application fee: to be established (Non-refundable portion - $1,000 adjusted annually for inflation)
Application review fee: $500 ($75 for the smallest tier of cultivation facilities)
The application, registration, and annual renewal fees for the smallest tier of cultivation facilities may not exceed $250
All other registration and annual renewal fees shall not exceed $10,000, unless the commission determines a greater fee is necessary
The fee schedule for Alternative Treatment Centers (ATCs):
Request for Application (RFA) submission fee: $3000
RFA selection fee: $20,000 (to be credited to the new ATC as part of the allocation)
Available License Types
The application period for New Hampshire is currently closed.
Licenses in New Hampshire:
4 non-profit alternative treatment centers (ATCs) grow and sell marijuana to patients.
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Spinal cord injury or disease
Traumatic brain injury
Chronic medical conditions or disabilities, with treatable symptoms including but not limited to:
Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
Severe and chronic pain
Severe or persistent muscle spasms
Passed in 2013, HB 573 allows patients with qualifying medical conditions to register with the state Department of Health and Human Services to possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana at a time, known as the Therapeutic Cannabis Program. The Department was also tasked with selecting 4 non-profit alternative treatment centers (ATCs) to grow and sell medical marijuana. In 2015, the department announced 3 selected applicants to operate the state’s first 3 ATC’s which are spread out throughout the state. As of June 30, 2019, there are currently four ATCs by region: Prime ATC (Merrimack), Sanctuary ATC (Plymouth), Temescal Wellness (Dover), and Temescal Wellness (Lebanon), serving 8,302 qualifying patients.The Therapeutic Cannabis Program 2019 Data Report published by the New Hampshire Department of Health outlines details for ATC expansion.
The state assigned a Commission to Study the Legalization, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana in 2018 to research the possibility of legalizing marijuana in the state. The commission issued a report to the State Legislature with 54 specific recommendations for policymakers.
In 2019, House Bill 481 was introduced to legalize recreational marijuana in the state. The bill would establish a Cannabis Control Commission to license and regulate marijuana businesses within the state. The bill stalled in the Senate and did not pass out of the legislature before adjournment of the 2019 legislative session.
Other State Information:
As of October 2019, there are 8,302 registered patients in the state’s Therapeutic Cannabis Program.
Amount/types of licenses issued/available
There are currently 4 licensed ATCs.
In the Therapeutic Cannabis Program 2019 Data Report the Therapeutic Cannabis Program seeks approval of second dispensary locations to be operated by the licensed ATC serving qualifying patients in Region 1 and the licensed ATC serving qualifying patients in Region 2.
There is currently no law that allows for adult-use.
Individuals with a physician’s recommendation may possess and use medical marijuana. The state has permitted four alternative treatment centers (ATCs) to grow and sell medical marijuana throughout the state.
The N.H. Department of Health and Human Services has reminded cities and towns that CBD is not approved for use in food products. In a written statement, the department says, per FDA regulations: “CBD is not a permitted additive in the state. This guidance has also been issued to self-inspecting municipalities to follow those regulations.”
The state passed House Bill 459, which allows for the growth of hemp in New Hampshire. Governor Chris Sununu signed the bill into law on July 30, 2019. The bill also established a study committee to study the federal guidelines on growing hemp.
Estimated market size
how to start a marijuana business New hampshire
If you are just starting your marijuana business, the next best step is to start a Business Plan to help educate your team and be ready to apply for a marijuana business license. If you are ready to apply for a Marijuana Business License in New Hampshire, please Contact us or call our offices to set an appointment to get started. You can also select another State Opportunity, or fill out our Contact Form to discuss potential strategies such as Investment or Partnership Opportunities.